Logo

Tracks & Call for Papers

The symposium will be divided into three different tracks.

Track 1: Technology-enhanced learning in education and training - Knowledge construction and development of competencies in knowledge networks

Track 2:Web-based collective intelligence in innovation processes

Track 3: Assessment Factors, Performance Evaluation, and Building Blocks of Collective-Intelligence-Systems

We kindly invite authors from either a theoretical or practical background to submit papers for the tracks. They only can be written in English. The papers will be peer-reviewed in a double-blind process.

Papers should fit to the style sheet and not exceed a total length of 12 pages (Word 97-2003, Word 2007, LaTeX). Please remove name etc. from the submitted papers and also meta-data from the submitted Word-/PDF-documents.

Accepted papers will be published in the proceedings (We are planning to publish the conference proceedings in Springer Lecture Notes). Publishing of an accepted paper in the proceedings requires at least one of the authors attending the symposium and paying the symposium fee.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Track 1: Technology-enhanced learning in education and training - Knowledge construction and development of competencies in knowledge networks

With the rise of the network society a new mode of knowledge construction emerges; knowledge is created in networks operating in informal, non-hierarchical, heterogeneously organized structures that are essentially transient. This new mode of knowledge construction operates in a context of application in that problems are not set within a disciplinary framework. It does more than assemble a diverse range of specialists. The shape of the final solution will be transdisciplinary rather than mono- or interdisciplinary (Gibbons et al., 1994). This process is now accelerated through the development of technology-enhanced learning and new web applications that facilitate collaboration, social interaction and negotiation of meaning (so-called social software or Web 2.0 applications).

Along with societal change the characteristics and competencies of learners, "knowledge workers" or members in a knowledge building community interacting in technology-enhanced environments are also changing. Today's kids grow-up digital and it is purposed that they form the "Net Generation" with a specific set of behaviors, skills and competencies.

In (higher) education settings as well as in professional development and corporate training, mainly relying on traditional, formal modes of teaching and learning, it is a challenge to integrate and respond to these open forms of knowledge construction.

The main question is: ‘What are critical factors that can be derived for successful design and sustainable implementation of technology-enhanced knowledge networks?’

Possible topics include, but are not limited to:

  • Pedagogical and didactical opportunities for technology-enhanced learning and teaching
  • Knowledge construction and interaction, communication and collaboration in learning tasks
  • Collaboration in communities and/or open networks
  • Instructional design models and principles
  • New trends in educational technology (Web 2.0, Open Educational Resources, Mobile learning)
  • Required competencies for learning, teaching and tutoring in technology-enhanced networks.
  • Support systems for students and teachers
  • Technical systems for the support of lifelong-learning, on demand learning and knowledge sharing
  • Change management, implementation and dissemination of innovation in education and training
  • Quality-management systems for technology enhanced learning
  • Assessment methods


Track Chair:

Theo J. Bastiaens, FernUniversitaet in Hagen, Germany

Committee:
Claudia de Witt, FernUniversitaet in Hagen, Germany
Olaf Zawacki-Richter, FernUniversitaet in Hagen, Germany

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Track 2: Web-based collective intelligence in innovation processes

The internet is an important economic factor for many companies. More and more companies exist with the internet as a basis for the whole business model. With the rising of Web 2.0 the internet is no longer only a distribution and communication channel between companies and customers. The enhancement of technologies and changing user behavior offers new challenges and also new opportunities for companies. Recently, the collective intelligence of internet users and online customers has thrust into the spotlight. Concepts and terms like Crowdsourcing, Wikinomics or “Wisdom of crowds” are heavily discussed in this context. All these concepts focus on value creation by groups of individuals. Some companies have already started to use this collective intelligence for value creation. Two examples are Threadless and InnoCentive. Threadless uses the crowd of customers to design t-shirts and to choose the portfolio of products. The open innovation marketplace InnoCentive offers companies the opportunity to find creative and new solutions created by the masses. However, the basic concepts, features and mechanism of collective intelligence are widely unexplored. Systematic approaches to integrated collective behavior and collective intelligence into value creation do not exist. There are still many open questions: What are appropriate designs for business models using collective intelligence? How can information and communication technology boost collective intelligence? How can online users and customers be motivated to take part?

Possible topics include, but are not limited to:

  • Methods and designs to use collective intelligence for value creation
  • Categorization of mechanisms of web-based collective intelligence
  • Business models for the harnessing of collective intelligence
  • Challenges and success factors to harness web-based collective intelligence in innovation processes
  • Methods to design environments for collective intelligent behavior
  • Methods and models to analyze web-based collective phenomena
  • Concepts to coordinate and control collective value creation
  • Scientific theories to analyze web-based collective intelligence
  • Scientific theories to analyze web-based collective intelligence from different perspectives (economically, psychological, sociological etc.)
  • Scientific theories to analyze innovation processes and innovation networks
  • Technological and organizational triggers to activate collective intelligence
  • Case studies of using web-based collective intelligence for value creation


Track Chairs:

Ulrike Baumoel, FernUniversitaet in Hagen, Germany
Sabine Fliess, FernUniversitaet in Hagen, Germany
Henrik Ickler, FernUniversitaet in Hagen, Germany

Committee:
Homa Bahrami, University of California at Berkeley, USA
Peter A. Gloor, MIT Center for Collective Intelligence, USA
Axel Hochstein, Stanford University, USA
Norbert Hoffmann, Swiss Life AG, Zuerich, Switzerland
Reinhard Jung, Universitaet St. Gallen, Switzerland
Wilhelm Roedder, FernUniversitaet in Hagen, Germany
Klaus Tochtermann, Universitaet Graz, Austria
Brigitte Werners, Ruhr-Universitaet Bochum, Germany

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Track 3: Assessment Factors, Performance Evaluation, and Building Blocks of Collective Intelligence Systems

Knowledge, that is inherent to social networks of communities, can constitute an important competitive advantage for enterprises, organizations, and individuals. The knowledge could be used to improve communication flows, create new knowledge and competencies, or to optimize innovation processes. However, it is still unclear how information management systems could support these activities, effectively present and process the knowledge inherent to social networks. In order to address these issues, different alternatives for assessing social networks have to be investigated and understood. In a second step, the assessment results obtained from applying the assessment factors to social networks could be used for a performance evaluation of those networks. In addition to this, the assessment factors and the results of the performance evaluation can be considered for the design of information management systems, which are called Collective-Intelligence-Systems (CI Systems). These systems are expected to provide mechanisms for the cooperative construction of knowledge, have the ability of analyzing collective knowledge, and provide support for decision-making. In general, these CI Systems will affect the conventional knowledge processing, as we know it. However, in order to achieve a sustainable performance of CI-Systems, it is essential to find characteristic design parameters and basic components of CI-Systems, which, in turn, can be considered for the actual development of CI-Systems. The design parameters and the basic components could be identified through a classification of different kinds of CI-Systems.

Possible topics include, but are not limited to:

  • Design requirements and development of CI-Systems
  • Architecture and components of CI-Systems
  • Case studies and applications of CI-Systems
  • Decision support systems considering social network information
  • Assessment factors for social networks
  • Performance evaluation of social networks
  • Mechanisms for establishing knowledge networks
  • Methods for designing CI-Systems
  • Mechanisms for extracting, storing, and accessing collective knowledge
  • Formal structures and representations of collective knowledge
  • IT-supported modeling of collective knowledge


Track Chairs:
Joern Altmann, Seoul National University, Korea
Bernd J. Kraemer, FernUniversitaet in Hagen, Germany

Committee:
Aurélie Aurilla Arntzen Bechina, College University I Buskerud, Kongsberg, Norway
Joerg M. Haake, FernUniversitaet in Hagen, Germany
Gunter Schlageter, FernUniversitaet in Hagen, Germany
Chen-Yu Phillip Sheu, University of California at Irvin, USA

01.12.2009
FernUni-Logo FernUniversität in Hagen, COLLIN 2010

Logo

Tracks & Call for Papers

Die Veranstaltung befasst sich thematisch mit den drei folgenden Themenschwerpunkten:

Track 1: Technikgestütztes Lernen in Bildungsinstitutionen - Konstruktion von Wissen und Entwicklung von Kompetenzen in Wissensnetzwerken

Track 2: Webbasierte kollektive Intelligenz in Innovationsprozessen

Track 3: Bemessungsfaktoren, Leistungsbewertung und Grundkomponenten von CI-Systemen

Beiträge mit einem wissenschaftlichen oder auch praktischen Hintergrund sind herzlich willkommen. Die Beiträge können ausschließlich in englischer Sprache verfasst werden. Sämtliche Beiträge werden durch ein Programmkomitee 2-fach-blind begutachtet.

Die Beiträge sollen exakt der Formatvorlage entsprechen (Word 97-2003, Word 2007, LaTeX). Eine Länge von 12 Seiten soll dabei nicht überschritten werden. Die Autoren werden gebeten, ihre Beiträge bei der Einreichung zur Begutachtung zu anonymisieren, indem Namen etc. weggelassen und die Metadaten in den Word- bzw. den PDF-Dokumenten gelöscht werden.

Angenommene Beiträge werden in einem Tagungsband veröffentlicht. Die Aufnahme eines angenommenen Beitrags in den Tagungsband setzt voraus, dass sich mindestens eine Autorin oder ein Autor zum Symposium angemeldet und den Symposiumsbeitrag entrichtet hat.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Track 1: Technikgestütztes Lernen in Bildungsinstitutionen - Konstruktion von Wissen und Entwicklung von Kompetenzen in Wissensnetzwerken


Mit der Entwicklung der Netzwerkgesellschaft entsteht eine neue Art der Wissenskonstruktion. Wissen wird in Netzwerken entwickelt, die in informellen, nicht-hierarchischen, heterogen organisierten und im Wesentlichen kurzlebigen Strukturen betrieben werden. Diese neue Form der Wissenskonstruktion funktioniert in einem Anwendungskontext, in dem Probleme nicht ausschließlich innerhalb eines disziplinären Rahmens angegangen werden. Das Ergebnis wird eher transdisziplinär als mono- oder interdisziplinär sein. Dieser Prozess wird gerade durch die Entwicklung des technikgestützten Lernens und durch neue Webanwendungen beschleunigt, die Kollaboration, soziale Interaktion und Aushandlung von Wissen erleichtern (so genannte Social Software oder Web 2.0 Anwendungen).

Im Zuge des gesellschaftlichen Wandels ändern sich auch die Eigenschaften und Kompetenzen der Lernenden, der „Wissensarbeiter“ oder der Mitglieder in einer Wissensgemeinschaft, die in technikgestützten Umgebungen interagieren. Kinder wachsen heutzutage in einer digitalen Welt auf und bilden aus diesem Grunde die „Internetgeneration“, mit bestimmten Verhaltensweisen, Fähigkeiten und Kompetenzen.

Es ist in (höheren) Bildungsbereichen sowie in der beruflichen Weiterbildung bzw. der beruflichen Bildung eine Herausforderung, diese offenen Formen der Wissenskonstruktion zu integrieren und umzusetzen, da sich diese Bereiche bisher hauptsächlich auf die traditionellen und formellen Formen des Lehrens und Lernens stützen.

Hauptfrage ist: Welche sind die kritischen Faktoren, die sich für ein erfolgreiches Design und eine nachhaltige Einführung der technikgestützten Wissensnetzwerke ergeben?

Mögliche Themen für Forschungsbeiträge sowie Erfahrungsberichte innerhalb dieses Tracks sind:

  • Pädagogisch-didaktische Möglichkeiten für technikgestütztes Lernen und Lehren
  • Wissenskonstruktion und interaktive, kommunikative und kollaborative Lernaktivitäten
  • Zusammenarbeit in Gemeinschaften und/oder offenen Netzwerken
  • Modelle und Prinzipien für Instruktionsdesign
  • Neue Trends im Bereich der Bildungstechnologien (Web 2.0, Open Educational Resources, Mobile Learning)
  • Erforderliche Kompetenzen für das Lernen, Lehren sowie für die Betreuung in technikgestützten Netzwerken
  • Supportsysteme für Lehrende und Lernende
  • Technische Systeme für die Unterstützung des lebenslangen Lernens, On-Demand-Lernen und Wissensteilung
  • Change Management und Implementation und Verbreitung von Innovationen in Bildungseinrichtungen und Netzwerkorganisationen
  • Qualitätsmanagementsysteme im Rahmen des technikgestützten Lernens
  • Assessmentmethoden


Leitung:

Prof. Dr. Theo J. Bastiaens, FernUniversität in Hagen

Programmkomitee:
Prof. Dr. Claudia de Witt, FernUniversität in Hagen, Germany
Dr. Olaf Zawacki-Richter, FernUniversität in Hagen, Germany

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Track 2: Webbasierte kollektive Intelligenz in Innovationsprozessen

Für viele Unternehmen ist das Internet ein wirtschaftlich bedeutender Faktor geworden bzw. die Basis ihres Geschäftsmodells. Mit der Entwicklung hin zum sogenannten Web 2.0 stellt es jedoch nicht mehr nur einen reinen Verkaufs- und Informationskanal zwischen Unternehmen und Kunden dar. Die Weiterentwicklungen des Webs und das damit einhergehende veränderte Nutzerverhalten stellen Unternehmen vor neue Herausforderungen und liefern gleichzeitig großes betriebswirtschaftliches Potenzial. In letzter Zeit steht vor allem die kollektive Intelligenz der Nutzer und Kunden im Mittelpunkt der Betrachtung. Verschiedene Ansätze und Konzepte, wie z. B. Crowdsourcing, Wikinomics, Social Commerce oder Wisdom of Crowds, befassen sich mit der Leistungsfähigkeit und Wertschöpfung der Masse an Nutzern bzw. Kunden. Wikipedia ist hier nur eines von vielen Beispielen, das das Nutzenpotenzial dieser webbasierten kollektiven Intelligenz aufzeigt. Viele Unternehmen haben bereits begonnen, die kollektive Intelligenz gezielt für die eigene Wertschöpfung zu nutzen. Threadless lässt die Kunden online das Produkt entwerfen, über die Aufnahme der Produkte ins Sortiment abstimmen und auch Marketingmaßnahmen durch die Nutzermasse ausführen. InnoCentive bietet als „Open Innovation Marktplatz“ Unternehmen Zugang zu einer breiten Masse an Nutzern, um spezifische Probleme lösen zu lassen. Diese Beispiele zeigen, dass eine wertschöpfende Verwendung der webbasierten kollektiven Intelligenz bereits stattfindet. Die zugrundeliegenden Mechanismen und ihre systematische Verwendung sind jedoch bisher nur wenig erforscht. Es bestehen viele offene Fragen darüber, wie webbasierte kollektive Intelligenz in der betrieblichen Wertschöpfung systematisch und effizient verwendet werden kann. Beispiele für Fragen sind hier, wie Geschäftsmodelle gestaltet werden können, wie eine Umsetzung auf der Ebene der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie erfolgen muss, um die webbasierte kollektive Intelligenz bestmöglich zu entfalten, oder wie die Masse an Nutzern und Kunden zu einer aktiven Teilnahme motiviert werden kann.

Mögliche Themen für Forschungsbeiträge sowie Erfahrungsberichte innerhalb dieses Tracks sind:

  • Methoden für die Ausgestaltung der auf webbasierter kollektiver Intelligenz basierenden betrieblichen Wertschöpfung
  • Beschreibung und Kategorisierung von Mechanismen webbasierter kollektiver Intelligenz
  • Geschäftsmodelle für die Umsetzung und Nutzbarmachung von kollektiv intelligentem Verhalten
  • Verbindung von klassischen Wertschöpfungsprozessen mit Wertschöpfungsprozessen, die auf kollektivem Verhalten basieren
  • Herausforderungen und Erfolgsfaktoren für die Verwendung webbasierter kollektiver Intelligenz in Innovations- und Wertschöpfungsprozessen
  • Methoden für das Design von Umgebungen, die kollektiv Intelligentes Verhalten fördern
  • Methoden und Modelle zur Analyse webbasierter kollektiver Phänomene
  • Ansätze zur Koordination und Steuerung webbasierter kollektiver Wertschöpfung
  • Wissenschaftliche Theorien und Methoden zur Erforschung webbasierter kollektiver Intelligenz, insbesondere aus der Betriebswirtschaftslehre, der Psychologie, der Soziologie und der Sozialpsychologie
  • Wissenschaftliche Theorien und Methoden zur Erforschung von webbasierten Innovationsprozessen und Innovationsnetzwerken, sowohl innerhalb von Unternehmen als auch in Märkten
  • Technologische und organisationale Auslöser für das kooperative Verhalten von Personen, Gruppen oder Netzwerken
  • Fallbeispiele aus der Praxis zur erfolgreichen Verwendung webbasierter kollektiver Intelligenz


Leitung:
Prof. Dr. Ulrike Baumöl, FernUniversität in Hagen
Prof. Dr. Sabine Fliess, FernUniversität in Hagen
Dipl.-Ök. Henrik Ickler, FernUniversität in Hagen

Programmkomitee:
Dr. Homa Bahrami, University of California at Berkeley, USA
Dr. Peter A. Gloor, MIT Center for Collective Intelligence, USA
Dr. Axel Hochstein, Stanford University, USA
Norbert Hoffmann, Swiss Life AG, Zürich, Switzerland
Prof. Dr. Reinhard Jung, Universität St. Gallen, Switzerland
Prof. Dr. Wilhelm Rödder, FernUniversität in Hagen, Germany
Prof. Dr. Klaus Tochtermann, Universität Graz, Austria
Prof. Dr. Brigitte Werners, Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Track 3: Bemessungsfaktoren, Leistungsbewertung und Grundkomponenten von CI-Systemen

Das in sozialen Netzwerken und Wissensgemeinschaften entstehende Wissen stellt für Unternehmen, Organisationen und Individuen einen wichtigen Wettbewerbsfaktor dar. Es kann verwendet werden, um Kommunikationsströme zu verbessern, neues Wissen zu schaffen, Innovationsprozesse zu optimieren oder Kompetenzen zu entwickeln. Jedoch ist es immer noch offen, wie Informationssysteme das kollektive Wissen aus sozialen Netzwerken Unternehmen effektiv zur Verfügung stellen können. Um Lösungen hierfür zu finden, ist es notwendig, die verschiedenen Möglichkeiten zur Bewertung und Bemessung sozialer Netzwerke zu untersuchen und zu verstehen. Bewertungsergebnisse, die aus der Anwendung von Bemessungsfaktoren auf soziale Netzwerke hervorgehen, können dann zur Leistungsbewertung solcher Netzwerke dienen. In einen weiteren Schritt können dann Bemessungsfaktoren und Bewertungsergebnisse sozialer Netzwerke bei der Konstruktion von Collective-Intelligence-Systemen (CI-Systemen) berücksichtigt werden. CI-Systeme stellen nicht nur eine Umgebung zur kooperativen Wissenskonstruktion dar, sondern unterstützen auch die Entscheidungsfindung in bestimmten Problemsituationen durch das synergetische Zusammenwirken der Intelligenz vieler Menschen und die Informationsverarbeitungs-, Kommunikations- und Speicherleistung von Computern. Somit verändern diese Systeme die herkömmliche Wissensverarbeitung durch die Berücksichtigung sozialer Strukturen und die Integration unterschiedlicher Kompetenzen und Wissensbestände. Damit jedoch CI-Systeme eine nachhaltige Leistung erreichen können, ist es notwendig, bestimmte Gestaltungsdimensionen und Grundkomponenten von CI-Systemen zu finden und bei ihrer Anwendung zu berücksichtigen. Diese könnten z. B. durch eine Klassifizierung von CI-Systemen identifiziert werden.

Mögliche Themen für Forschungsbeiträge sowie Erfahrungsberichte innerhalb dieses Tracks sind:

  • Anforderungen an das Design und die Entwicklung von CI-Systemen
  • Architekturen und Komponenten von CI-Systemen
  • Anwendungsbeispiele von CI-Systemen
  • Entscheidungsverfahren, die soziale Netzwerke berücksichtigen
  • Bemessungsfaktoren für soziale Netzwerke
  • Leistungsbewertung von sozialen Netzwerken
  • Übertragung existierender Ansätze auf den Aufbau von Wissensnetzwerken
  • Methoden für die Gestaltung von CI-Systemen
  • Mechanismen für die Aufnahme, die Aufbewahrung und den Zugang zu kollektivem Wissen
  • Formelle Strukturierung und Darstellung kollektiven Wissens
  • IT-gestützte Modellierung kollektiven Wissens


Leitung:

Prof. Dr. Jörn Altmann, Seoul National University
Prof. Dr. Bernd J. Krämer, FernUniversität in Hagen

Programmkomitee:
Dr. Aurélie Aurilla Arntzen Bechina, College University I Buskerud, Kongsberg, Norway
Prof. Dr. Jörg M. Haake, FernUniversität in Hagen
Prof. Dr. Gunter Schlageter, FernUniversität in Hagen
Chen-Yu Phillip Sheu, University of California at Irvine, USA

19.03.2010
FernUni-Logo FernUniversität in Hagen, COLLIN 2010