Bildungswandeln 2014

“Bildungs-Wandel” (Educational Walk and Change) experienced first-hand
Became acquainted with new FernUni-Reality during a Walk

On 17th May 2014 the participants of the face-to-face seminar “Bildungswissenschaft an einem Tag” (Educational Science in One Day) could experience the FernUniversität two times first-hand. Prof. Dr. Theo J. Bastiaens, Head of the Department of Instructional Technology and Media at the Institute of Educational Science and Media Research, confronted the students with a new piece of FernUni Reality.

Foto Bildungs-Wandel ScreenshotSince 2013 Prof. Bastiaens conveys “Bildungswissenschaft an einem Tag”, spanning a number of modules, to students of all branches of study at the FernUniversität to give them an overview about the scientific educational landscape. This year he broke in on the students before lunchtime with a new pilot-project: via Download of the Mobile App “Layar” and a walk on the campus, the students went in for a “Bildungs-Wandel” (an Educational Walk and Change) with eight stations, where they found out some interesting facts, took a Campus Memory home and went hunting for their lunch.

Within the “Bildungs-Wandel” (Educational Walk and Change) the participants discovered the campus. They got information about altered learning environments and about the topics “Networking” and “Educational Media”. Beyond that they could have their picture taken in front of the aerial photo of the FernUni and have a look at the exhibition in the former building TGZ about the FernUniversität’s history. Picture and certificate were immediately digitally available.

At each station the students got a letter to solve the solution at the last station in the lecture room. Here they could compare their experiences with other students and give feedback to the Department.

Foto Bildungs-Wandel Layar

The most spectacular about this round tour was the special kind of realisation, which has been an embodiment of a “Bildungs-Wandel” (here: Educational Change) itself. The virtual form of presentation and the interactive way of realisation via the App “Layar” made this Educational Walk and Change first-hand tangible and accessible. The App as innovative tour guide enables the interaction with the world and creates novel digital experiences. Contents with the Layar App Logo or a QR-Code are scanned with a smartphone and displayed with additional information (here they could see the following lunch). This is possible due to the principle of “Augmented Reality”, keyword for the multimedia-based expansion of the perception of reality.

The “Bildungs-Wandel” (Educational Walk and Change) took place within the scope of the Social Software Project, which is fostered by the rectorship of the FernUniversität. The project aims at the investigation and implementation of an Instructional Design for the insertion of Social Software within Academic Teaching. Through this, empiric-verified recommendations shall be composed for lecturers and eLearning-developers to make full use of its potential.

Prof. Theo Bastiaens and Kerstin Burslam (Design) as well as the rest of the team at the Department of Instructional Technology and Media are pleased to present the results and hope to come to conclusions to drive the “Bildungs-Wandel” (here: Educational Change) at the FernUniversität in Hagen into the future.

Lehrgebiet Mediendidaktik
Institut für Bildungswissenschaft und Medienforschung


Bildungswandeln 2014

Bildungs-Wandel hautnah erlebt
Beim Spaziergang neue FernUni-Realität kennengelernt

Hautnah konnten die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer der Präsenzveranstaltung “Bildungswissenschaft an einem Tag” die FernUniversität in Hagen am 17. Mai 2014 erleben. Und das sogar in zweierlei Hinsicht. Prof. Dr. Theo J. Bastiaens, Leiter des Lehrgebiets Mediendidaktik im Institut für Bildungswissenschaft und Medienforschung, konfrontierte die Studierenden mit einem neuen Stück FernUni-Realität. Foto Bildungs-Wandel Screenshot

Seit 2013 vermittelt Prof. Bastiaens modulübergreifend “Bildungswissenschaft an einem Tag” und gibt den Studierenden aller Fachrichtungen an der FernUniversität einen Überblick über die bildungswissenschaftliche Landschaft. In diesem Jahr überraschte er sie vor der Mittagspause mit einem neuen Pilot-Projekt: Mittels Download der mobilen App “Layar” und einem Spaziergang über den Campus unternahmen die Studierenden einen “Bildungs-Wandel” mit acht Stationen, bei dem sie Wissenswertes erfahren, eine Campus-Erinnerung mitnehmen und auf die Jagd nach ihrem Mittagessen gehen konnten.

Beim “Bildungs-Wandel” erkundeten die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer den Campus. Sie erhielten Informationen über veränderte Lernräume und die Themen “Netzwerken” und “Bildungsmedien”. Darüber hinaus konnten sie sich im ehemaligen TGZ vor dem Luftbild der FernUni fotografieren lassen und die Ausstellung über die Geschichte der FernUniversität ansehen. Foto und Teilnehmerzertifikat waren sofort digital verfügbar.

An jeder Station erhielten sie einen Buchstaben mitgeteilt, um an der letzten Station im Seminarraum das Lösungswort zu finden. Hier konnten sich die Studierenden über die gemachten Erfahrungen austauschen und dem Lehrgebiet Feedback geben.
Foto Bildungs-Wandel LayarDas Spektakuläre an diesem Rundgang war die Art und Weise der Umsetzung, welche selbst Inbegriff eines “Bildungs-Wandels” ist. Die virtuelle Form der Darstellung und interaktive Art der Umsetzung mittels der App “Layar” machten diesen Wandel hautnah erlebbar. Die App ermöglicht als innovativer Reiseführer die Interaktion mit der Welt und schafft neuartige digitale Erlebnisse. Inhalte mit dem “Layar”-App-Logo oder einem QR-Code werden mit dem Smartphone eingescannt und dann auf dem Display mit passenden Zusatzinformationen versehen (dort war auch das anschließende Mittagessen zu sehen). Möglich ist dies durch das Prinzip “Augmented Reality”, Stichwort für die multimediale Erweiterung der Realitätswahrnehmung.

Der “Bildungs-Wandel” fand im Rahmen des Social Software Projekts statt, das vom Rektorat der FernUniversität gefördert wird. Das Projekt dient der Erforschung und Implementierung eines didaktischen Modells zum praktischen Einsatz innovativer Social Software in der Hochschul- und Fernlehre. Hierdurch sollen empirisch abgesicherte Empfehlungen für Lehrende und E-Learning-Entwickler zur Potentialausschöpfung zusammengestellt werden.

Prof. Theo Bastiaens und Kerstin Burslam (Design) sowie das restliche Team des Lehrgebiets Mediendidaktik freuen sich über das gelungene Ergebnis und hoffen auf diesem Weg Erkenntnisse zu erlangen, die den Bildungs-Wandel an der FernUniversität in Hagen weiter in die Zukunft treiben.

Dieser Artikel ist auch in der Ausgabe Herbst 2014 der FernUni Perspektive nachzulesen.