The EADTU Micro-Credential Project (MCE)

Photo: SUPHANSA/KI-generiert – stock.adobe.com

Flexible, customized learning opportunities

Partly due to the Covid-19 pandemic, there has been an increasing demand in recent years for short, flexible, and tailored learning opportunities. The EU supports such offerings, which are more and more often being labeled as “micro-credentials.” In Germany, however, there is a wide range of terms for short programs of that kind. They all have in common that they are usually offered in digital/blended format and target (lifelong) learners who are interested in studying, have already completed a degree, and/or are employed.

With study and continuing education programs that offer flexible learning paths to combine individual courses into certificates or entire degrees, the FernUniversität in Hagen has its finger on the pulse of the times. By offering a variety of compact, thematically focused educational programs, the FernUni has become one of the pioneers in the constantly growing field of higher education micro-credential offerings.

MCE Project

As part of the EADTU project Modularisation of Continuing Education and Professionalisation by Micro-Credentials (MCE), the FernUniversität in Hagen is working with 10 EU partners on the research task of exploring institutional strategies with regard to shorter learning programs and implementation options for micro-credentials. The MCE project is particularly concerned with the learner’s perspective and advising universities on course development as well as political actors on the further implementation of micro-credentials.

EADTU MCE KombiLogo: EADTU
 

Micro-Credential NEWS

  • On 16 February 2024, the Empowering Seminar/discussion forum titled Micro-Credentials: Integration, Recognition/Accreditation, Digital Certificates will be held in cooperation with the EADTU and the AI Campus 2.0 project of the FernUniversität in Hagen.

    The FernUni’s two research pillars in the field of micro-credentials, the MCE project and the AI campus 2.0 project, are harnessing synergies by hosting an Empowering Seminar.

    The seminar, facilitated by the EADTU, will offer participants – both FernUni staff and international experts – a chance to look at the opportunities and challenges of integrating study offerings from external institutions into the academic curriculum.

    The event will address the urgent and delicate issues of integration, recognition, and accreditation of micro-credentials, as well as questions of recognizing short learning program certificates and receiving credits for certificates achieved through learning outside the university. And last but not least, there will be a discussion about digital certificates.

    The seminar will take place online. You can find the agenda below.

    Agenda (PDF 2 MB)
    More information (PDF 177 KB)

    Contact for registration and questions: Dr. Mirna Zeman

  • The EADTU, in collaboration with the European MOOC Consortium (EMC) and the MCE project (Modularisation of Continuing Education and Professionalisation by Micro-Credentials), has published the Microcredential Monitor.

    In the ever-evolving educational landscape of continuing professional development, micro-credentials have proven to be a transformative force in providing learners with flexible ways to acquire new skills and knowledge.

    Visit the Monitor for the latest information on key reports, policy initiatives, and research publications related to micro-credentials in higher education and lifelong learning!

    EADTU Microcredential Monitor

 
Ein Bild, dass die MCE-Veröffentlichungen zeigt. Photo: jannoon028 – stock.adobe.com (Mockup)

Outcomes

1 // Investigating modularization and micro-credentials from the learners’ perspective
Meta-research on the learner perspective on micro-credential formats and learning services for continuing education and professional development (2022)
Download: PDF for publication 1 (PDF 2 MB)


2 // Institutional leadership and micro-credentials
Analyzing and mapping of current institutional qualifications for continuing edcuation and professional development and micro-credentials in the partnership (2023)
Download: PDF for publication 2 (PDF 901 KB)


3 // Case studies on modularization and micro-credentialing
Report on modularization and micro-credentialing based on MCE case studies analysis (2023)
Download: PDF for publication 3 (PDF 3 MB)

 

Work Packages

  • Project management and coordination

    EADTU

  • Investigating modularization and micro-credentials from the learners’ perspective

    UOC

  • Institutional leadership and micro-credentials

    FernUni in Hagen

  • Empowering for transformative change

    KU Leuven

  • Pilot studies on modularization and micro-credentialing

    Uninettuno and UNED

  • Evidence-based recommendations on micro-credentials to national and EU level policy makers

    UAb


Project Partners

Contact

Dr. Mirna Zeman Photo: Uršula Pastorčić

Dr. Mirna Zeman

Project coordination for Modularisation of Continuing Education and Professionalisation by Micro-Credentials (MCE)

E-Mail: mirna.zeman

Telefon: +49 2331 987-4245

International Office | 06.02.2024

EADTU-Projekt zu Micro-Credentials (MCE)

SUPHANSA/KI-generiert – stock.adobe.com

Flexible, maßgeschneiderte Lernangebote

In den vergangenen Jahren gab es – auch aufgrund der Covid-19-Pandemie – eine steigende Nachfrage nach kurzen, flexiblen und maßgeschneiderten Lernangeboten.
Auch die EU unterstützt solche Angebote, die immer häufiger unter dem Begriff „Micro-Credentials“ zusammengefasst werden. Dabei gibt es in Deutschland bisher ein weites Spektrum an Begrifflichkeiten für derartige Kurzprogramme. Sie alle eint: Tendenziell werden sie digital/blended und für (lebenslang) Lernende angeboten, die an einem Studium interessiert sind, bereits studiert haben und/oder im Berufsleben stehen.

Mit Studien- und Weiterbildungsprogrammen, die flexible Lernwege anbieten, um einzelne Kurse zu Zertifikaten oder ganzen Abschlüssen „zusammenzubauen“, ist die FernUniversität in Hagen am Puls der Zeit. Indem sie eine Vielzahl kompakter, thematisch fokussierter Bildungsangebote mit nachgewiesener Prüfungsleistung anbietet, avanciert die FernUni in Hagen zu den Vorreitern im ständig wachsenden Bereich der hochschulischen Micro-Credentials-Lernangeboten.

MCE-Projekt

Im Rahmen des EADTU-Projekts „Modularisation of Continuing Education and Professionalisation by Micro-Credentials“ (MCE) arbeitet die FernUni in Hagen mit 10 EU-Partnern u.a. an der Forschungsaufgabe zusammen, die institutionellen Strategien bezüglich kürzerer Universitätsprogramme und Implementierungsmöglichkeiten von Micro-Credentials auszuloten. Das MCE-Projekt beschäftigt sich insbesondere mit der Lernendenperspektive und der Beratung von Hochschulen zur Angebotsentwicklung sowie von politischen Akteuren zur weiteren Umsetzung von Micro-Credentials.

EADTU MCE Kombi

Link zur MCE-EADTU-Projektseite

 

NEWS zu Micro-Credentials

  • Am 16. Februar 2024 findet das Empowering-Seminar / Diskussionsforum „Micro-Credentials: Integration – Anerkennung/Anrechnung – Digitale Zertifikate“ in Zusammenarbeit mit der EADTU und dem Projekt KI-Campus 2.0 der FernUniversität in Hagen statt.

    Die zwei Forschungssäulen im Bereich der Micro-Credentials an der FernUni – das MCE-Projekt und das KI-C-2.0-Projekt – setzen auf Synergieeffekte und veranstalten gemeinsam ein Empowering-Seminar.

    Die von der EADTU unterstützte Veranstaltung bietet die Möglichkeit, hochschulintern und im Austausch mit internationalen Expert:innen die Chancen und Herausforderungen der Implementierung externer Lernangebote in die Hochschullehre zu beleuchten.

    Diskutiert werden die heikel-brennenden Problematiken der Integration, Anerkennung und Anrechnung von Micro-Credentials, wie Fragen nach Anerkennung / Anrechnung von Leistungsnachweisen hochschulischer Kurzprogramme oder Fragen nach Anrechnung von Nachweisen für das außerhochschulisch Erlernte.
    Last but not least soll das Thema Digitale Zertifikate erörtert werden.

    Agenda (PDF 2 MB)

    Mehr Informationen (PDF 154 KB) (DE)
    For more information (PDF 177 KB) (EN)

    Anmeldung und Fragen: Dr. Mirna Zeman.
    Der Zoom Link zur Veranstaltung wird Ihnen nach Anmeldung zugesendet.

  • Die EADTU hat in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Europäischen MOOC Consortium (EMC) und dem MCE-Projekt („Modularisierung der Weiterbildung und Professionalisierung durch Micro-Credentials“) den „Microcredential Monitor“ veröffentlicht.

    In der sich ständig entwickelnden Bildungslandschaft der beruflichen Weiterbildung haben sich Micro-Credentials als transformative Kraft erwiesen, Lernenden flexible Wege zum Erwerb neuer Fähigkeiten und Kenntnisse zu eröffnen.

    Besuchen Sie den Monitor, um die neuesten Informationen über wichtige Berichte, politische Initiativen und Forschungspublikationen im Zusammenhang mit Micro-Credentials in der Hochschulbildung und im lebenslangen Lernen zu erhalten!

    EADTU Microcredential Monitor

 
Ein Bild, dass die MCE-Veröffentlichungen zeigt. Foto: jannoon028 – stock.adobe.com (Mockup)

Veröffentlichungen

  1. Investigating modularization and micro-credentials from the learners’ perspective
    Meta-research on the learner perspective on micro-credential formats and learning services for continuing education and professional development (2022)
    Download: PDF zur Veröffentlichung 1 (PDF 2 MB)
  2. Institutional leadership and micro-credentials
    Analyzing and mapping of current institutional qualifications for continuing edcuation and professional development and micro-credentials in the partnership (2023)
    Download: PDF zur Veröffentlichung 2 (PDF 901 KB)
  3. Case studies on modularization and micro-credentialing
    Report on modularization and micro-credentialing based on MCE case studies analysis (2023)
    Download: PDF zur Veröffentlichung 3 (PDF 3 MB)
 

Arbeitspakete

  • Projektmanagement und Koordination (EADTU)
  • Untersuchung zu Micro-Credentials aus der Perspektive der Lernende (UOC)
  • Institutionelle Strategien zu Micro-Credentials (FernUniversität in Hagen)
  • Empowering für die Transformation der Hochschullandschaft durch Micro-Credentials (KU Leuven)
  • Pilotstudien zur Modularisierung und Micro-Credentials (Uninettuno und UNED)
  • Evidenzbasierte Empfehlungen zu Micro-Credentials für die Politik auf nationaler und EU-Ebene (UAb)
 
 

Kontakt

Dr. Mirna Zeman Foto: Uršula Pastorčić

Dr. Mirna Zeman

Projektkoordination Modularisation of Continuing Education and Professionalisation by Micro-Credentials (MCE)

E-Mail: mirna.zeman

Telefon: +49 2331 987-4245

International Office | 01.02.2024